Terug naar overzicht

31 oktober 2019 | Nieuws

Piket Art Prizes awards ceremony in Diligentia

The sixth edition of the Piket Art Prizes awards ceremony is approaching fast: it will take place on Monday 25 November in Theater Diligentia in The Hague. On this festive occasion the members of the jury will reveal the names of the prize winners – three young professional artists who are connected to The Hague and active in painting, dance or dramatic arts. The three lucky ones will receive the 8,000 Euros cash prize and a trophy, designed this year by The Hague artist Peter Zwaan. In addition there will be a special jury prize for exceptional commitment to young artists from the The Hague region.

The 2019 Piket Art Prizes nominees Piket Kunstprijzen 2019

* Joran van Soest (born in Amsterdam, lives in Eindhoven)
* Jordan Herregraven (Phoenix (USA), lives in The Hague)
* Florentijn de Boer (Voorburg, lives in The Hague)

* Antonin Rioche (Angers (France), lives in The Hague)
* Sara de Greef (Amersfoort, currently stationed in London)
* Aya Misaki (Osaka (Japan), lives in The Hague)

Dramatic Arts
* Tarik Moree (Voorburg, lives in Amsterdam)
* Naomi van der Linden (The Hague, lives in Amsterdam)
* Charli Chung (The Hague, lives in Amsterdam)

Here you can find the video’s about the nominees.

‘They’re all special’

“Our nominees are all special,” says jury president Marjolein de Jong. “Their fresh outlook and the way in which they stand out within their disciplines is unique. It is not going to be easy to reduce this top 9 to a top 3.”
Nominee Antonin Rioche (dance) is proud of his nomination. “I think I am a very hard worker and also a very passionate artist. I am doing my best to invest myself in the dance field here, in the Netherlands. Last season was not an easy one for me. I have been trying to contact a lot of people without receiving any answers or considerations. This why I felt so happy, honoured, and touched when I learned about my nomination!”
Charli Chung (dramatic arts) is proud, too. “Celebrations! There is Hague blood in my veins and I will never get rid of my accent. The Hague and its people have a special place in my heart. It is a tremendous honour to be nominated for such a big art prize.”

Members of the jury

All candidates have been selected by a jury consisting of president Marjolein de Jong, former The Hague alderwoman for Culture, and furthermore Maarten Demmink (Demiak), Suzanne Swarts (Museum Voorlinden), Isabelle Chaffaud (MEYER-CHAFFAUD), Stacz Wilhem (Korzo Theater), David Geysen (Bureau Dégradé) and Antoinette Jelgersma (Het Nationale Theater).

About the Piket Art Prizes

Frederik Hendrik Piket (1927-2011) was a solicitor and member of the Dutch Senate for the CHU, one of the parties that later merged into the CDA (Christian Democrat Appeal). Piket was a great lover of the arts. When he passed away in 2011, a foundation was established, with the aim to annually provide three young and promising artists with the incentive of a prize.

Photo: Janneke van Beek